It’s time for Antarctica!

A Maurice de Mauriac accompanies a scientist into the eternal ice.

Daisy Hessenberger walks through clear, piercing air—her breath hangs like fog around her face. A glance at her watch helps her to orient herself in a world seemingly without orientation. Space and time have no clear boundaries in Antarctica. Nevertheless she smiles.

This is how it will be when Daisy Hessenberger heads off to Antarctica at the beginning of 2019 as one of the 79 women selected worldwide. It will be the largest female expedition in the world. The researchers are there to draw attention to the work of women in science as well as acquire essential skills such as leadership qualities and strategic competencies. Established in 2016, the Homeward Bound Project, an initiative aiming to send 1000 women to Antarctica for 3 weeks each over the course of 10 years, has made this possible.

Daisy Hessenberger has already lived and worked in several countries—most recently in Switzerland. In was there that she discovered her love of mechanical watches. Soon she will be indulging this love during the expedition with a Maurice de Mauriac on her arm. In an environment that is far more than just technology-unfriendly, she will rely on her L2 deep red in bronze. For as unimportant as time in Antarctica can be, knowing the exact time can also be just as vital when you need to rely on each other under such extreme conditions.

Daisy Hessenberger will be sending us reports on a regular basis, letting our clients and friends know about the expedition, so that we can share in this extremely important time for her, for women in science, and for us, as we accompany her on her wrist.

Maurice de Mauriac rewards the exceptional commitment of young people and helps them to fulfil their professional and personal dreams. Through such initiatives they become friends of the brand, and these friendships are part of the larger Maurice de Mauriac family, which its founder, Daniel Dreifuss, had in mind from the very beginning as an ideal goal.

Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland
Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland
Daisy is showing off her L2 Steel Deep Red
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom The Boat of the Expedition driving through the Antarctica
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom

Es wird Zeit für die Antarktis

Eine Maurice de Mauriac geht mit einer Wissenschaftlerin ins ewige Eis.

Daisy Hessenberger läuft durch klare, klirrende Luft, der Atem steht Ihr wie Nebel vor Ihrem Gesicht. Ein Blick auf die  Ihre Uhr gibt Ihr Orientierung in einer Welt, die auf den ersten Blick scheint, als würde man dort jede Orientierung verlieren können. Raum und Zeit haben in der Antarktis keine klaren Grenzen. Doch sie lächelt.

So wird es sein, wenn Daisy Hessenberger Anfang 2019 als eine von 79 weltweit ausgewählten Frauen in der Antarktis sein wird. Es wird die größte weibliche Expedition der Welt sein. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen sollen auf die Arbeit von Frauen in der Wissenschaft aufmerksam machen und bekommen zudem noch wesentliche Skills, wie Führungsqualitäten und strategische Kompetenzen vermittelt. Möglich macht das The Homeward Bound Project, eine Initiative, die seit 2016 in 10 Jahren 1000 Frauen für jeweils 3 Wochen in die Antarktis schicken wird.

Daisy Hessenberger hat schon in einigen Ländern gelebt und gearbeitet. Zuletzt in der Schweiz. Da hat sie Ihre Liebe zu mechanischen Uhren entdeckt. Diese Liebe lebt sie nun während der Expedition mit einer Maurice de Mauriac am Arm aus. In einer Umgebung, die weit mehr als nur technikunfreundlich ist, wird sie sich auf ihre L2 deep red in Bronze verlassen. Denn so unwichtig Zeit in der Antarktis sein kann, kann es auch lebenswichtig sein, die genaue Zeit zu haben, wenn man sich unter diesen extremen Bedingungen aufeinander verlassen können muss.

Daisy Hessenberger wird uns, unseren Kunden und Freunden regelmäßig von der Expedition berichten, damit wir teilhaben können an einer Zeit, die für Sie extrem wichtig sein wird, die für die Frauen in der Wissenschaft wichtig sein wird und die für uns, die wir am Handgelenk sie begleiten dürfen, wichtig sein wird.

Maurice de Mauriac belohnt aussergewöhnliches Engagement junger Menschen und hilft ihnen so, ihre beruflichen und privaten Träume erfüllen zu können. So werden sie zu Freunden des Hauses und diese Freundschaften sind Teil der großen Maurice de Mauriac Familie, die ihr Gründer Daniel Dreifuss von Beginn an als Idealziel vor Augen hatte.

Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland
Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland Daisy prediving Test in Lausanne, Switzerland
Daisy is showing off her L2 Steel Deep Red
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom The Boat of the Expedition driving through the Antarctica
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom
Photographer credit: Oli Sansom