A‘hole in one’ friendship

Kyle Roig came, saw and stayed with Maurice de Mauriac.

A woman was standing in front of the atelier, fidgeting with her luggage and capturing our attention. The next thing we knew, she was standing in our atelier. Did we want to buy a vintage Omega from her? Not disinclined to beautiful old watches, we began to talk. It turned out that Kyle Roig is a very successful Puerto Rican golfer, and the friendship that began that day could be called a ‘hole in one’ friendship.

We sat down at our long atelier table, our ‘table university’, and were amazed. Kyle has been playing golf since the age of five and was second in the World Amateur Ranking at 17. In 2011, she had the lowest national average score of her age group at 68.2. She also holds the National Women’s High School Record with 23 rounds in a row under par. She has played in over 37 countries and on five continents for Puerto Rico and the USA. Our amazement didn’t stop there, as Kyle was the first Puerto Rican to play the Ladies European Tour and has won over 15 international titles in her junior, amateur and professional career. We were fascinated and will continue to follow her future path with great interest: Kyle is aiming to qualify for the Olympic Games in Tokyo in 2020—playing for Puerto Rico. Instead of selling us her vintage Omega, Kyle Roig bought a Maurice de Mauriac and spontaneously became an ambassador for our brand.

It was immediately clear to us that Kyle loved watches. However, when it came to Maurice de Mauriac, she loved not only the watches but also our attitude toward our clients, which she both witnessed and experienced first hand that day. Our sense of family and friendly attitude is not a marketing strategy for us—it is a lived reality. Kyle said when she left the next day, she left her luggage with us, that she had never experienced a brand that was so consistently focused on family, loyalty and hard work as Maurice de Mauriac. She said that she respected us because of this. We stood there in mutual respect—deep respect—and had to say goodbye to our new ambassador, who will appear on our website in a few days’ time. At that moment, we all knew for sure that Kyle would soon be here again, and that we will be with her, somewhere in the world, when she hits a hole in one—just like she did that day in the atelier.

Eine „hole in one“-Freundschaf

Kyle Roig kam, sah und blieb bei Maurice de Mauriac

Da stand eine Frau vor dem Atelier, nestelte mit Ihren Gepäckstücken und mit unserer Aufmerksamkeit rum und plötzlich stand sie im Atelier. Ob wir Ihr eine Vintage Omega abkaufen wollten? Schönen alten Uhren nicht abgeneigt, kamen wir ins Gespräch. Es stellte sich heraus, Kyle Roig ist eine sehr erfolgreiche Puerto Ricanische Golfspielerin und die Freundschaft, die an dem Tag begann, könnte man eine „hole in one“-Freundschaft nennen.

Wir setzten uns an unseren langen Ateliertisch, unsere Tischuniversität, und staunten nicht schlecht. Kyle spielt seit dem fünften Lebensjahr Golf, war mit 17. zweite im World Amateur Ranking. 2011 hielt sie das national niedrigste Durchschnitts-Scoring ihres Jahrgangs mit 68,2. Ebenso hält sie zu der Zeit schon den National Womans High School Record mit 23 Runden unter par in Folge. Sie hat schon in über 37 Ländern und fünf Kontinenten für Puerto Rico und die USA gespielt. Unser Staunen hörte nicht auf, denn Kyle war die erste Puerto Ricanerin, die die Ladies European Tour gespielt und hat schon über 15 internationale Titel in ihrer Junior-, Amateur- und Profikarriere gewonnen hat. Wir waren fasziniert und werden Ihr mit dieser Faszination folgen. Denn Kyle strebt die Qualifikation für die Olympischen Spiele 2020 in Tokyo an. Für Puerto Rico spielend. Anstatt uns Ihre Vintage Omega zu verkaufen, kaufte Kyle Roig sich eine Maurice de Mauriac und wurde spontan zur Ambassadorin für unsere Marke.

Das Kyle Uhren liebte, war uns sofort klar. Bei uns liebte sie aber nicht nur die Uhren, sondern unsere Haltung zu unseren Kunden, die sie den Tag über live mitbekam. Das Familiäre, das Freundschaftliche ist bei uns keine Marketingstrategie, es ist gelebte Realität. Kyle sagte, als sie am nächsten Tag abreiste, sie hatte Ihr Gepäck bei uns gelassen, sie habe noch nie eine Marke erlebt, die so konsequent auf Familie, Loyalität und harte Arbeit setzen würde, wie Maurice de Mauriac. Wir hätten Ihren Respekt. Da standen wir uns in gegenseitigem Respekt – tiefem Respekt – gegenüber und mussten vorerst Abschied nehmen von unserer neuen Ambassadorin, die in wenigen Tagen für Sie in unserer Website da sein wird. Wir alle wussten in dem Moment aber auch ganz sicher, dass Kyle bald wieder hier und wir bald irgendwo auf der Welt bei Ihr sein werden, wenn Sie ein hole in one auf dem Platz schlägt, das Sie bei uns in unsere Herzen geschlagen hatte.