A Watch for Going Deep

In the city, out in the country and at sea

In a family business, almost everything subsumed by the company. And holidays are no exception. If one of the three Dreifuss men goes on holiday, he is also assigned a few tasks. More often than not, this means that a few watches are brought along to be tested in various environments and under difficult conditions.

Leonard Dreifuss has two different versions of the L2 in his luggage – one bronze, one steel – that he wants to test on the island of Sumatra in a harsh environment. He dives deep into the cities and into the countryside – the L2 dispatches heat, humidity, hectic, and the rugged outdoor conditions with ease. The steel and bronze cases, the sapphire crystal, and the movement can handle everything thrown at it. Even if the wearer does, the L2 doesn’t break a sweat.

Then Leonard dives into the sea. In Palau Weh on Sumatra, he took both L2 with him on dives to a depth of 12 metres, repeatedly plunging them into seawater, exposing them to the heat of an underwater volcano and using them not as a fine timepiece but rather as a tool that has to function – always and everywhere.

And the L2 just keeps doing its job. Leonard sticks his arm, with the L2 on his wrist, through small openings in the rock and past sharp reefs, paying no heed to the watch just to see if the L2 could take it. It remained unscathed. Both watches not only survived, but the steel retained its shine and the bronze became more and more beautiful with each dive. At first, only a hint of colour appears on the bronze, which then becomes a turquoise blue and eventually a green, as only a bronze can.

After every dive, one’s eyes are greeted with watches that are not only beautiful, but – in the case of bronze – become even more beautiful. Memories remain of moray eels, swordfish, parrotfish, countless Nemos and huge schools of fish he swam through. Leonard Dreifuss won’t forget any of it. Such experiences are etched into the brain. And when he later wants to vividly remember this beauty, all he has to do is look down at his bronze L2. After all, the watch wasn’t just present; it shared in the experiences that not only made a lasting impression on Leonard but also interacted with the watch – the result of which perfectly captures the beauty of every moment.

Die L2 auf Reise

In der Stadt, auf dem Land und im Meer

In einem Familienunternehmen wird eigentlich fast alles dem Unternehmen unterstellt. So auch die Ferien. Fährt einer der drei Dreifuss‘ in den Urlaub, bekommt er ein paar Aufgaben mit. Das bedeutet, es sind Uhren im Gepäck, die in besonderen Umgebungen getestet werden sollen.

Leonard Dreifuss hat zwei L2 im Gepäck – eine in Bronze, eine in Stahl – die er auf Sumatra in rauher Umgebung testen soll. Er ist damit in Städten und auf dem Land abgetaucht – Hitze, Feuchtigkeit, Hektik, harte Outdoorbedingungen können keiner L2 etwas anhaben. Die Gehäuse aus Stahl und Bronze, das Glas, das Uhrwerk – nichts kann eine L2 wirklich beeindrucken. Selbst wenn der Träger schwer beeindruckt ist von alledem.

Dann tauchte Leonard ab ins Meer. In Palau Weh auf Sumatra nahm er beide L2 mit auf Tauchgänge in 20 Meter Tiefe, setze sie immer wieder dem Meerwasser aus, ließ sie die Hitze eines Unterwasservulkans spüren und benutzte sie nicht wie eine edle Uhr, sondern wie ein Werkzeug, das zu funktionieren hat – immer und überall.

Und die L2 funktionieren. Er drückte die L2 durch Felsen und an scharfen Riffen vorbei, schenkte ihnen nichts, ausser seine Aufmerksamkeit, um zu sehen, ob die L2 das alles mitmachen. Schadlos. Sie bleiben nicht nur schadlos, der Stahl behielt unbeeindruckt seinen Glanz und die Bronze wurde von Tauchgang zu Tauchgang beeindruckend schöner. Zuerst ist es nur die Ahnung einer Farbe, die sich auf der Bronze absetzt und dann wird es zu einem Türkisblau, zu einem Grün, wie es nur eine Bronze ansetzen kann.

Glückliche Augen nach jedem Tauchgang, Uhren, die nicht nur schön sind, sondern – mit dem Bronzegehäuse – auch noch immer schöner werden. Erinnerungen an Muränen, Schwertfische, Papageienfische, unzähligen Nemos und riesige Fischschwärme, die er durchschwimmen konnte. Das alles wird Leonard Dreifuss nicht vergessen. Solche Erlebnisse brennen sich in das Gehirn. Und wenn er sich später an diese Schönheit lebhaft erinnern möchte, schaut er seine L2 in Bronze an, die mit ihm gelebt und erlebt hat und er sieht die Schönheit jeden Momentes, die sich wie ein Bild auf die Bronze seiner Uhr gelegt hat.